Occupational and non-occupational accident

What to do in the event of an accident?

Accidents take place within seconds – and often they change lives forever. That of the victim as well as the whole family. Their future must remain financially affordable as well.

Wide Selection

Wide Selection

Insurance solutions – for customised insurance coverage

Emergency service

Emergency service

Organisation of help in case of emergency – round the clock

Close to you

Close to you

Consultation on-site by your personal contact person

The financial consequences of an accident can be very serious for the individuals as well as for the dependants. It is therefore advisable to always be prepared actuarially for an emergency.


Am I insured against accidents?

If you work for the same employer for at least 8 hours a week, then you are insured against occupational and non-occupational accidents as well as occupational illnesses. The Swiss federal law on accident insurance (UVG/LAA/LAINF) applies. In the event of an accident, you will receive the statutory benefits from this insurance.

It is an entirely different matter if you are not employed or are employed less than eight hours per week at the same employer. Then you are only insured against occupational accidents and occupational illnesses through the obligatory accident insurance. You must therefore include the accident cover in your health insurance. That way, you are also insured in the event of a non-occupational accident.

FAQ

  • Which benefits does the accident insurance pay pursuant to Swiss federal law on accident insurance (UVG/LAA/LAINF)?
    Accident insurance providers pursuant to the UVG/LAA/LAINF must bear the total costs in the event of an accident for

    • outpatient and inpatient curative treatment (general ward)
    • medical aids
    • participation towards travel and transport costs as well as further costs
    • daily allowance (up to 80 % of the last salary, from the 3rd day after the accident
    • compensation for damage to integrity
    • helplessness allowance
    • survivors’ pensions or settlement
    • disability pension


    You do not pay the deductible nor must you participate in the costs in the form of a retention fee. The daily allowance will be paid out to you until your recovery. The obligatory accident insurance also assumes costs for relapses and long-term consequences of accidents.

    The hospital or your doctor shall send all invoices directly to the insurance provider. You must therefore neither pay the invoices yourself nor send them to your insurance. 
  • Which benefits are taken over by the accident cover of the health insurance pursuant to the KVG/LAMal?
    In the event of an accident, the accident cover of the health insurance does not cover the same benefits as the accident insurance pursuant to the UVG/LAA/LAINF.

    The health insurance, just like the accident insurance, takes over the treatment costs, but invoices the deductible and retention fee as it does with illness. You must, however, pay the deductible only one time per calendar year for illness and accident together. The health insurance makes, in particular, no distinction between illness and accident. The retention fee is limited to a maximum of CHF 700 per year for illness and accident together.

    A further distinction exists with cash benefits. There is no entitlement to daily allowance with the accident insurance of basic insurance. Just the same, no disability pension nor death benefits will be paid out. A compensation for damage to integrity is only paid through the accident insurance.
  • How do I report an accident?

    If you are insured through your employer pursuant to the UVG/LAA/LAINF, your employer will take over reporting the accident. Inform them of the accident's exact sequence of events so that they can forward the necessary information to the insurance provider.  

    If you are insured with the accident cover of obligatory health care insurance (OKP/AOS/AOMS), then you must report the accident yourself with this form (in German).  

    • Please fill out all the fields required.
    • Create a PDF and print it out.
    • Sign it. 
    • Send it to your CONCORDIA agency.

    This report must be made as soon as possible. 

  • What counts as an accident?
    An accident is an event which, due to a sudden, involuntary damaging effect of an unusual external factor on the human body, results in an impairment of physical or mental health or death.

    If, in case of physical or mental impairment, the accident requirements aren't met, the case is generally considered to be an illness and your basic insurance pays. You will thus receive illness benefits.
  • My accident insurance doesn’t pay. What can I do?
    If the accident insurance does not pay the benefits, and thus the impairment is not classified as an accident, then the insurance provider must on demand communicate this in a decree in written form. If you do not agree with this, you may file an objection within 30 days. 
  • I have been unable to work for a prolonged period of time. What should I bear in mind?
    You will be assigned a contact person by the accident insurance provider. This person will oversee your case and help you should you have questions. Furthermore, you will receive an ‘incapacity to work’ card, which you must take with you to doctor appointments. The doctor must enter the percentage of your incapacity to work each time on the card. Send this card once a month to your employer.

    You will receive financial support up until the end of your recovery, provided the benefit requirement are met. The amount of the daily allowance depends on the percentage of your incapacity to work.
  • What should I bear in mind in the event of an accident abroad?
    A maximum of twice the amount that would be paid in Switzerland for the same treatment will be compensated. If you would like to make use of more benefits, you can take out Vacation and Travel Insurance . With this, the recovery costs will be taken over at the local rate. With DIVERSA Supplementary Insurance  and PRIVATE Hospital Insurance  too, you are better insured when abroad. Should you have any questions, please contact your CONCORDIA agency .
  • Can I insure myself additionally against accidents?

    The following insurances provide supplementary financial protection in the event of an accident:

  • My child had an accident and must be hospitalised. Can I stay with her/him in the hospital?
    If your child has an accident, you may spend the night with her/him in the hospital. In the case you yourself have an accident, you may also take your infant, for example, in the hospital with you.

    CONCORDIA pays a maximum of CHF 60 out of the supplementary insurance DIVERSAcare and CHF 100 out of DIVERSApremium   per night of the stay of the accompanying parent in the hospital where the child (until the age of 10) is staying or vice versa (max. ten nights per calendar year).

    In addition, CONCORDIA pays out of all supplementary hospital insurances a contribution of a maximum of CHF 60 per day towards the stay of the accompanying parent in the hospital where the child is staying or vice versa. It is irrelevant whether the person insured has taken out PRIVATE, SEMI-PRIVATE, LIBERO or GENERAL Hospital Insurance.

Berufs- und Nichtberufsunfall

Was tun bei Unfall?

Unfälle ereignen sich in Sekundenschnelle – und verändern oft das ganze Leben. Das Leben der Opfer ebenso wie das ganzer Familien. Auch deren Zukunft muss danach finanzierbar bleiben.

Grosse Auswahl

Grosse Auswahl

Versicherungslösungen – für individuelle Bedürfnisse

Notrufservice

Notrufservice

Organisation von Hilfe im Notfall – rund um die Uhr

Nah bei Ihnen

Nah bei Ihnen

Beratung vor Ort durch Ihren persönlichen Ansprechpartner

Die finanziellen Konsequenzen eines Unfalls können für den Einzelnen wie auch die Angehörigen gravierend sein. Es empfiehlt sich deshalb, versicherungstechnisch stets auf einen Notfall vorbereitet zu sein.


Bin ich gegen Unfall versichert?

Wenn Sie mindestens acht Stunden in der Woche beim gleichen Arbeitgeber arbeiten, sind Sie bei diesem gegen Berufs- und Nichtberufsunfall wie auch gegen Berufskrankheiten versichert. Es gilt das Bundesgesetz über die Unfallversicherung (UVG). Bei einem Unfall erhalten Sie die gesetzlichen Leistungen aus dieser Versicherung.

Anders sieht es aus, wenn Sie nicht oder weniger als acht Stunden pro Woche beim gleichen Arbeitgeber angestellt sind. Dann sind Sie durch die obligatorische Unfallversicherung nur gegen Berufsunfälle und Berufskrankheiten versichert. Bei Ihrer Krankenversicherung müssen Sie deshalb die Unfalldeckung einschliessen . So sind Sie auch bei einem Nichtberufsunfall versichert.

FAQ

  • Welche Leistungen bezahlt die Unfallversicherung gemäss UVG?
    Die Unfallversicherer gemäss UVG müssen bei einem Unfall die ganzen Kosten übernehmen für:

    • ambulante und stationäre Heilbehandlung (allgemeine Abteilung)
    • Hilfsmittel
    • Beteiligung an Reise- und Transportkosten und an weiteren Kosten
    • Taggeld (bis zu 80% vom letzten Lohn, ab 3. Tag nach Unfall)
    • Integritätsentschädigung
    • Hilflosenentschädigung
    • Hinterlassenenrenten bzw. Abfindung
    • Invalidenrente

    Sie bezahlen weder eine Franchise noch müssen Sie sich an den Kosten in Form eines Selbstbehalts beteiligen. Rückfälle und Spätfolgen des Unfalles werden ebenfalls durch die obligatorische Unfallversicherung übernommen.

    Das Spital oder Ihr Arzt wird alle Rechnungen direkt mit der Versicherung abrechnen. Sie müssen also weder Rechnungen selbst bezahlen, noch Ihrer Versicherung zusenden.
  • Welche Leistungen werden von der Unfalldeckung der Krankenversicherung nach KVG übernommen?
    Die Unfalldeckung der Krankenversicherung deckt bei einem Unfall nicht die gleichen Leistungen wie die Unfallversicherung gemäss UVG.

    Die Krankenversicherung übernimmt genau wie die Unfallversicherung die Heilungskosten, jedoch stellt sie wie bei einer Krankheit Franchise und Selbstbehalt in Rechnung. Die Franchise müssen Sie aber pro Kalenderjahr für Krankheit und Unfall nur einmal bezahlen. Die Krankenversicherung macht nämlich bei der Abrechnung keinen Unterschied zwischen Krankheit und Unfall. Auch der Selbstbehalt ist pro Kalenderjahr für Krankheit und Unfall zusammen auf maximal 700 Franken begrenzt.

    Ein weiterer Unterschied besteht bei den Geldleistungen. Bei der Unfalldeckung der Krankenversicherung besteht kein Anspruch auf ein Taggeld. Genauso werden keine Invalidenrente und keine Todesfallleistung ausbezahlt. Auch eine Integritätsentschädigung wird nur durch die Unfallversicherung ausgerichtet.
  • Wie melde ich einen Unfall?

    Wenn Sie bei Ihrem Arbeitgeber gemäss UVG versichert sind, wird dieser die Unfallmeldung für Sie übernehmen. Teilen Sie ihm den genauen Unfallhergang mit, damit er die nötigen Informationen an die Versicherung weiterleiten kann. Wenn Sie durch die Unfalldeckung der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) versichert sind, müssen Sie den Unfall mit diesem Formular selber melden.

    • Füllen Sie alle verlangten Felder aus.
    • Erstellen Sie ein PDF und drucken Sie es aus.
    • Unterschreiben Sie es.
    • Senden Sie es an Ihre CONCORDIA-Agentur oder Geschäftsstelle.

    Diese Meldung muss so schnell wie möglich erfolgen.

  • Was gilt als Unfall?
    Ein Unfall ist die plötzliche, nicht beabsichtigte schädigende Einwirkung eines ungewöhnlichen äusseren Faktors auf den menschlichen Körper, die eine Beeinträchtigung der körperlichen, geistigen oder psychischen Gesundheit oder den Tod zur Folge hat.

    Sind bei einer körperlichen, geistigen oder psychischen Beeinträchtigung die Unfallvoraussetzungen nicht erfüllt, liegt in der Regel eine Krankheit vor. In diesem Fall zahlt Ihre Grundversicherung. Sie erhalten dabei die Leistungen für Krankheit.
  • Meine Unfallversicherung zahlt nicht, was kann ich tun?
    Wenn die Unfallversicherung die Leistungen nicht zahlt, die Beeinträchtigung also nicht als Folge eines Unfalles einstuft, muss sie dies auf Verlangen hin in einer Verfügung schriftlich mitteilen. Wenn Sie damit nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie innert 30 Tagen Einsprache erheben.
  • Ich bin längere Zeit arbeitsunfähig, was muss ich beachten?
    Sie werden von der Unfallversicherung eine Ansprechperson zugewiesen bekommen, die Ihren Fall betreut und Ihnen bei Fragen helfen kann. Ausserdem erhalten Sie eine Arbeitsunfähigkeitskarte, die Sie zu Ihren Arztbesuchen mitnehmen müssen. Auf dieser Karte muss der Arzt jeweils eintragen, zu wieviel Prozent Sie noch arbeitsunfähig sind. Diese Karte senden Sie einmal im Monat an Ihren Arbeitgeber. 

    Finanziell werden Sie bis zum Ende Ihrer Genesung unterstützt, sofern die Leistungsvoraussetzungen gegeben sind. Die Höhe des Taggeldes richtet sich dabei nach der Höhe der Arbeitsunfähigkeit.
  • Was muss ich bei einem Unfall im Ausland beachten?
    Es wird maximal der doppelte Betrag vergütet, der in der Schweiz für die gleiche Behandlung angefallen wäre. Wenn Sie mehr Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen möchten, können Sie eine Ferien- und Reiseversicherung abschliessen. Bei dieser werden die Heilungskosten zum ortsüblichen Tarif übernommen. Auch mit der Zusatzversicherung DIVERSA und der Spitalversicherung PRIVAT sind Sie im Ausland besser versichert. Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich an Ihre CONCORDIA-Agentur oder Geschäftsstelle .
  • Kann ich mich zusätzlich gegen Unfall versichern?

    Folgende Versicherungen bieten bei einem Unfallzusätzlich finanziellen Schutz:

    Mit der Abredeversicherung können Sie die Versicherung der Nichtberufsunfälle über deren Ende hinaus um max. 6 Monate verlängern.

  • Mein Kind hatte einen Unfall und muss ins Spital. Kann ich auch dort übernachten?
    Wenn Ihr Kind einen Unfall hatte, können Sie es für die Übernachtung ins Spital begleiten. Auch wenn Sie selber einen Unfall hatten, können Sie beispielsweise Ihren Säugling mit ins Spital nehmen.

    Die CONCORDIA leistet aus den Zusatzversicherungen DIVERSAcare und DIVERSApremium  Beiträge von maximal CHF 60 bzw. CHF 100 pro Übernachtung an den Aufenthalt des begleitenden Elternteils im Spital, in dem das Kind (bis zum vollendeten 10. Altersjahr) hospitalisiert ist oder umgekehrt (max. 10 Übernachtungen pro Kalenderjahr).

    Die CONCORDIA zahlt zusätzlich aus allen Spitalversicherungen  einen Betrag von maximal CHF 60 pro Tag an den Aufenthalt des begleitenden Elternteils im Spital, in dem das Kind hospitalisiert ist oder umgekehrt. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle, ob der Versicherte die Spitalversicherung PRIVAT, HALBPRIVAT, LIBERO oder ALLGEMEIN abgeschlossen hat.