Second medical opinion: The Four-eyes Principle

When a surgical procedure is imminent, a multitude of questions arise for both the doctor as well as the patient. In general, the doctor's diagnosis is provided with the greatest of care. Naturally, the patient too reflects on the imminent surgery that the doctor has recommended. Is this really necessary? Are there any alternative operative methods? Do I know all of the risks?

 

A second opinion is understood to be a medical assessment provided by a second doctor before a planned surgical procedure. A second opinion can bring clarity and support your decision-making, but you are free to decide how you would like to proceed.  

 

These two possibilities are open to you at CONCORDIA to obtain a second medical opinion:

 

1. meinezweitmeinung.ch

You can obtain a second medical opinion in the fields of vascular disease and orthopedics on meinezweitmeinung.ch without consulting CONCORDIA if the prerequisites listed opposite have been fulfilled.

 

You will receive a second medical opinion personally served from qualified Swiss experts within a period of ten days. Any potential treatment will not be carried out by the doctor offering the second opinion. In this way, a neutral evaluation is ensured.

 

2. CONCORDIA health insurance doctor service

In a conversation with you, your questions will be answered and clarified as to whether a second opinion is indicated and if so, if it should be carried out by our medical service or an external doctor.

 

CONCORDIA

Vertrauensärztlicher Dienst/ Health insurance doctor service

Bundesplatz 15

6002 Lucerne

 

Telephone 041 228 03 41
Fax 041 228 03 78
E-Mail vertrauensarzt@concordia.ch

 

 

 

CONCORDIA takes over the costs of a second medical opinion when the following conditions have been fulfilled:

 

1.   You have taken out a hospital insurance with CONCORDIA.

 

2.   The planned procedure is considered an obligatory benefit of basic insurance.

 

3.   The medical procedure can be planned in a realistic time frame and is not an emergency.

 

4.   There is a maximum of six months of old medical records regarding the planned procedure that you are able to obtain from your doctor.

 

5.   This is not a third or fourth opinion.

 

Premium calculator


 

Your CONCORDIA agency

Deuxième avis médical selon le principe «deux paires d’yeux valent mieux qu’une»

Nombre de questions se posent avant toute opération, tant pour le patient que pour le médecin. En règle générale, ce dernier établit son diagnostic avec le plus grand soin. Malgré tout, il est normal que l’opération recommandée suscite des questionnements chez le patient. L’intervention est-elle vraiment nécessaire? Y a-t-il d’autres possibilités? Ai-je connaissance de tous les risques encourus?

 

Un deuxième avis médical, c’est-à-dire une appréciation du cas donnée par un autre médecin avant une intervention chirurgicale planifiée, peut aider à clarifier certains points et à vous décider, mais la décision finale vous revient dans tous les cas.

 

CONCORDIA propose les deux solutions ci-dessous à ceux qui souhaitent recevoir un deuxième avis médical:

 

1. meinezweitmeinung.ch

Vous pouvez, sans même avoir consulté CONCORDIA au préalable, demander directement un deuxième avis médical dans les domaines de l’orthopédie et de la chirurgie vasculaire sur le site meinezweitmeinung.ch, cela pour autant que les conditions mentionnées plus bas soient remplies.

 

Le deuxième avis médical, établi par des spécialistes suisses chevronnés, vous est adressé personnellement dans les dix jours. Le cas échéant, ce n’est pas le médecin ayant donné le deuxième avis qui effectuera l’intervention ou le traitement recommandé. Ainsi, le patient a la garantie que l’appréciation a été faite en toute neutralité.

 

2. Service des médecins-conseils de CONCORDIA

Ce service est proposé sous la forme d’un entretien, au cours duquel vous obtenez des réponses à vos questions et vous pouvez éclaircir certains points, à savoir s’il faut demander un deuxième avis médical et si celui-ci peut être établi par notre Service des médecins-conseils ou un médecin externe.

 

CONCORDIA
Service des médecins-conseils
Bundesplatz 15
6002 Lucerne

 

Tél.: 041 228 03 41
Fax: 041 228 03 78
E-mail: vertrauensarzt@concordia.ch

 

 

CONCORDIA assume les frais d’un deuxième avis médical lorsque les conditions ci-dessous sont remplies:

 

1.   Vous avez conclu une assurance-hospitalisation chez CONCORDIA.

 

2.   L’intervention planifiée relève des prestations obligatoires de l’assurance de base.

 

3.   L’intervention médicale peut être planifiée à l’avance et ne constitue pas une urgence.

 

4.   Un dossier médical relatif à l’intervention planifiée et ne remontant pas à plus de six mois peut être obtenu chez votre médecin.

 

5.   Il ne s’agit ni d’un troisième ni d’un quatrième avis médical.

 

Calculateur de primes


 

Votre agence CONCORDIA