Occupational and non-occupational accident

What to do in the event of an accident?

Accidents take place within seconds – and often they change lives forever. That of the victim as well as the whole family. Their future must remain financially affordable as well.

Wide Selection

Wide Selection

Insurance solutions – for customised insurance coverage

Emergency service

Emergency service

Organisation of help in case of emergency – round the clock

Close to you

Close to you

Consultation on-site by your personal contact person

The financial consequences of an accident can be very serious for the individuals as well as for the dependants. It is therefore advisable to always be prepared actuarially for an emergency.


Am I insured against accidents?

If you work for the same employer for at least 8 hours a week, then you are insured against occupational and non-occupational accidents as well as occupational illnesses. The Swiss federal law on accident insurance (UVG/LAA/LAINF) applies. In the event of an accident, you will receive the statutory benefits from this insurance.

It is an entirely different matter if you are not employed or are employed less than eight hours per week at the same employer. Then you are only insured against occupational accidents and occupational illnesses through the obligatory accident insurance. You must therefore include the accident cover in your health insurance. That way, you are also insured in the event of a non-occupational accident.

FAQ

  • Which benefits does the accident insurance pay pursuant to Swiss federal law on accident insurance (UVG/LAA/LAINF)?
    Accident insurance providers pursuant to the UVG/LAA/LAINF must bear the total costs in the event of an accident for

    • outpatient and inpatient curative treatment (general ward)
    • medical aids
    • participation towards travel and transport costs as well as further costs
    • daily allowance (up to 80 % of the last salary, from the 3rd day after the accident
    • compensation for damage to integrity
    • helplessness allowance
    • survivors’ pensions or settlement
    • disability pension


    You do not pay the deductible nor must you participate in the costs in the form of a retention fee. The daily allowance will be paid out to you until your recovery. The obligatory accident insurance also assumes costs for relapses and long-term consequences of accidents.

    The hospital or your doctor shall send all invoices directly to the insurance provider. You must therefore neither pay the invoices yourself nor send them to your insurance. 
  • Which benefits are taken over by the accident cover of the health insurance pursuant to the KVG/LAMal?
    In the event of an accident, the accident cover of the health insurance does not cover the same benefits as the accident insurance pursuant to the UVG/LAA/LAINF.

    The health insurance, just like the accident insurance, takes over the treatment costs, but invoices the deductible and retention fee as it does with illness. You must, however, pay the deductible only one time per calendar year for illness and accident together. The health insurance makes, in particular, no distinction between illness and accident. The retention fee is limited to a maximum of CHF 700 per year for illness and accident together.

    A further distinction exists with cash benefits. There is no entitlement to daily allowance with the accident insurance of basic insurance. Just the same, no disability pension nor death benefits will be paid out. A compensation for damage to integrity is only paid through the accident insurance.
  • How do I report an accident?

    If you are insured through your employer pursuant to the UVG/LAA/LAINF, your employer will take over reporting the accident. Inform them of the accident's exact sequence of events so that they can forward the necessary information to the insurance provider.  

    If you are insured with the accident cover of obligatory health care insurance (OKP/AOS/AOMS), then you must report the accident yourself with this form (in German).  

    • Please fill out all the fields required.
    • Create a PDF and print it out.
    • Sign it. 
    • Send it to your CONCORDIA agency.

    This report must be made as soon as possible. 

  • What counts as an accident?
    An accident is an event which, due to a sudden, involuntary damaging effect of an unusual external factor on the human body, results in an impairment of physical or mental health or death.

    If, in case of physical or mental impairment, the accident requirements aren't met, the case is generally considered to be an illness and your basic insurance pays. You will thus receive illness benefits.
  • My accident insurance doesn’t pay. What can I do?
    If the accident insurance does not pay the benefits, and thus the impairment is not classified as an accident, then the insurance provider must on demand communicate this in a decree in written form. If you do not agree with this, you may file an objection within 30 days. 
  • I have been unable to work for a prolonged period of time. What should I bear in mind?
    You will be assigned a contact person by the accident insurance provider. This person will oversee your case and help you should you have questions. Furthermore, you will receive an ‘incapacity to work’ card, which you must take with you to doctor appointments. The doctor must enter the percentage of your incapacity to work each time on the card. Send this card once a month to your employer.

    You will receive financial support up until the end of your recovery, provided the benefit requirement are met. The amount of the daily allowance depends on the percentage of your incapacity to work.
  • What should I bear in mind in the event of an accident abroad?
    A maximum of twice the amount that would be paid in Switzerland for the same treatment will be compensated. If you would like to make use of more benefits, you can take out Vacation and Travel Insurance . With this, the recovery costs will be taken over at the local rate. With DIVERSA Supplementary Insurance  and PRIVATE Hospital Insurance  too, you are better insured when abroad. Should you have any questions, please contact your CONCORDIA agency .
  • Can I insure myself additionally against accidents?

    The following insurances provide supplementary financial protection in the event of an accident:

  • My child had an accident and must be hospitalised. Can I stay with her/him in the hospital?
    If your child has an accident, you may spend the night with her/him in the hospital. In the case you yourself have an accident, you may also take your infant, for example, in the hospital with you.

    CONCORDIA pays a maximum of CHF 60 out of the supplementary insurance DIVERSAcare and CHF 100 out of DIVERSApremium   per night of the stay of the accompanying parent in the hospital where the child (until the age of 10) is staying or vice versa (max. ten nights per calendar year).

    In addition, CONCORDIA pays out of all supplementary hospital insurances a contribution of a maximum of CHF 60 per day towards the stay of the accompanying parent in the hospital where the child is staying or vice versa. It is irrelevant whether the person insured has taken out PRIVATE, SEMI-PRIVATE, LIBERO or GENERAL Hospital Insurance.

Accidents professionnels et non professionnels

Que faire en cas d'accident?

Les accidents se produisent en une fraction de seconde, mais changent souvent toute une vie – celle des victimes et également celle de leur famille. Car l’avenir des proches doit continuer d'être assuré sur le plan financier aussi.

Une large palette

Une large palette

Des solutions d'assurance répondant à tous vos besoins

Une centrale d'appels d'urgence

Une centrale d'appels d'urgence

L'organisation 24h sur 24 de secours en cas d'urgence

Une proximité rassurante

Une proximité rassurante

Des conseils prodigués près de chez vous par votre interlocuteur personnel

Les conséquences financières d’un accident peuvent être dramatiques autant pour la personne concernée que pour ses proches. Afin de parer à toute éventualité, il est recommandé de disposer d’une bonne couverture d’assurance.


Est-ce que je dispose d’une assurance contre les accidents?

Si vous travaillez au moins huit heures par semaine chez un employeur, vous disposez, par le biais de celui-ci, d’une assurance contre les accidents professionnels et non professionnels et contre les maladies professionnelles, conformément à la loi sur l’assurance-accidents (LAA). En cas d'accident, cette assurance vous verse les prestations légales.

En revanche, si vous n'exercez pas d'activité lucrative ou que vous travaillez moins de huit heures par semaine chez un même employeur, votre couverture est uniquement valable pour les accidents et maladies professionnels dans le cadre de l’assurance-accidents obligatoire. Pour disposer d’une protection en cas d’accident non professionnel, vous devez donc inclure le risque accidents dans votre assurance-maladie. 

Foire aux questions

  • Quelles prestations l’assurance-accidents selon la LAA verse-t-elle?

    En cas d’accident, les assureurs-accidents selon la LAA sont tenus de prendre en charge les coûts suivants:

    • Traitements thérapeutiques ambulatoires et stationnaires (division commune)
    • Moyens auxiliaires
    • Participation aux frais de voyage et de transport et aux autres coûts qui y sont liés
    • Indemnités journalières (jusqu'à 80 % du dernier salaire, à partir du troisième jour après l'accident)
    • Indemnité pour atteinte à l’intégrité
    • Allocation pour impotent
    • Rente de survivants ou indemnité en capital
    • Rente d’invalidité


    Vous n'avez pas de franchise à payer ou de participation aux coûts sous forme de quote-part à régler. Les rechutes et séquelles d'accident sont également prises en charge par l'assurance-accidents obligatoire.

    L’hôpital ou le médecin décompte toutes les factures directement avec l’assureur. Vous ne devez donc ni payer de factures ni les envoyer à votre assureur. 

  • Quelles prestations sont prises en charge par la couverture accidents de l’assurance-maladie selon la LAMal?
    En cas d’accident, la couverture accidents de l’assurance-maladie ne prend pas en charge les mêmes prestations que l’assurance-accidents selon la LAA.

    Si l’assurance-maladie couvre les frais de guérison de la même manière que l’assurance-accidents, elle facture cependant une franchise et une quote-part comme dans le cas d’une maladie. Vous ne devez payer votre franchise, qui vaut à la fois pour les cas de maladie et d'accident, qu’une seule fois par année civile. En effet, pour ce qui est du décompte, l’assurance-maladie ne fait pas la distinction entre les cas de maladie et d’accident. Et la quote-part est limitée à CHF 700 par année civile, cas de maladie et d'accident réunis.

    Une autre différence concerne les prestations pécuniaires. Avec la couverture accidents de l’assurance-maladie, il n’existe pas de droit à une indemnité journalière. L'assurance-maladie ne verse pas non plus de rente d’invalidité ou prestations en cas de décès. De même, seule l’assurance-accidents alloue des indemnités pour atteinte à l'intégrité.
  • Comment dois-je annoncer un accident?

    Si vous disposez d’une assurance selon la LAA par le biais de votre employeur, celui-ci déclarera le cas pour vous. Décrivez-lui précisément le déroulement de l'accident afin qu’il puisse transmettre les informations nécessaires à l’assureur. 

    Si vous bénéficiez de la couverture accidents de l’assurance obligatoire des soins (AOS), vous devez annoncer vous-mêmes l’accident au moyen de ce formulaire

    • Remplissez tous les champs obligatoires.
    • Générez le formulaire au format PDF et imprimez-le.
    • Signez le document. 
    • Envoyez-le à votre agence CONCORDIA

    Vous devez annoncer votre accident aussi vite que possible. 

  • Que considère-t-on comme un accident?
    Un accident désigne toute atteinte dommageable, soudaine et involontaire, portée au corps humain par une cause extérieure extraordinaire qui compromet la santé physique, mentale ou psychique ou qui entraîne la mort.

    En cas d'atteinte physique, mentale ou psychique, si les conditions d'un accident ne sont pas remplies, il s’agit en général d’une maladie. C’est votre assurance de base qui prend alors en charge le cas: vous recevez des prestations de maladie.
  • Mon assurance-accidents refuse la prise en charge des coûts; que puis-je faire?
    Si votre assureur-accidents ne verse aucune prestation, c’est-à-dire qu’il ne considère pas l’atteinte comme étant la conséquence d’un accident, il doit le communiquer par écrit, sur demande, dans une décision. Si vous n’êtes pas d’accord avec celle-ci, vous pouvez y faire opposition dans les 30 jours. 
  • Je suis en incapacité de travail pour une longue période; à quoi dois-je prêter attention?
    Votre assureur-accidents vous attribue un interlocuteur, qui s’occupe de votre dossier et répond à vos questions. Vous recevez également une carte d'incapacité de travail que vous devez emporter à toutes vos consultations médicales. Après chaque visite, votre médecin doit indiquer le degré de votre incapacité de travail sur cette carte, que vous devez envoyer une fois par mois à votre employeur. 

    Vous recevez une aide financière jusqu’à votre guérison complète, pour autant que les conditions de prise en charge soient remplies. Le montant des indemnités journalières se calcule en fonction du degré de votre incapacité de travail. 
  • De quoi dois-je tenir compte si je suis victime d’un accident à l'étranger?
    Les frais occasionnés sont remboursés jusqu’à concurrence du double du montant de ceux qui auraient résultés d’un même traitement en Suisse. Si vous souhaitez avoir droit à davantage de prestations, vous pouvez conclure l’Assurance vacances et voyages , qui couvre les frais de guérison au tarif local. Vous bénéficiez également d’une meilleure couverture à l’étranger avec l’assurance complémentaire DIVERSA  et l’Assurance-hospitalisation PRIVÉE . Pour toute question, n'hésitez pas à vous adresser à votre agence CONCORDIA .
  • Ai-je la possibilité d’améliorer ma couverture contre les accidents?

    Les assurances suivantes offrent une protection financière supplémentaire en cas d'accident:

    Avec l'assurance par convention, vous pouvez prolonger l'assurance pour les accidents non professionnels de maximum six mois.

  • Mon enfant a été victime d’un accident et doit être hospitalisé; puis-je rester auprès de lui à l’hôpital?
    Si votre enfant a subi un accident, vous pouvez passer la nuit à ses côtés à l’hôpital. Inversement, si c’est vous qui avez été victime d’un accident, vous avez la possibilité d’emmener votre enfant avec vous, par exemple si c’est encore un nourrisson.

    Au titre des assurances complémentaires DIVERSAcare et DIVERSApremium , CONCORDIA verse des contributions maximales de respectivement CHF 60 et CHF 100 par nuitée aux frais de séjour du parent dans l'hôpital où séjourne son enfant (jusqu'à son 10e anniversaire) ou inversement (max. dix nuitées par année civile).

    CONCORDIA alloue également au titre de toutes ses assurances-hospitalisation  un montant maximal de CHF 60 par jour aux frais de séjour du parent dans l'hôpital où son enfant séjourne ou inversement. Peu importe dans ce contexte que le patient dispose de l’Assurance-hospitalisation PRIVÉE, MI-PRIVÉE, LIBERO ou COMMUNE.