Successful financial year in 2016 and 25,000 persons newly insured

Annual Report

2016 was once again a very successful financial year for CONCORDIA. Both companies – CONCORDIA Swiss Health and Accident Insurance Ltd as well as CONCORDIA Insurances Ltd – achieved a positive result.

The income surplus amounts to CHF 102 million overall. This surplus goes directly into the reserves, which primarily guarantee the financial stability and solvency of CONCORDIA, but are additionally used to cushion the increases in premiums and for reductions in premiums. In 2017, CONCORDIA is paying CHF 30 million out of the reserves back to its insured persons with basic insurance in Switzerland. CONCORDIA is organised under the auspices of a non-profit oriented association.

Thanks to invoice verification, CONCORDIA saved CHF 228 million in the last year. At the same time, only 4.9 Swiss centimes from each premium franc was expended for administrative costs with the insurances pursuant to the Swiss federal law on health insurance (KVG/LAMal); the rest flowed back to the insured persons in the form of benefit payments.

In regard to basic insurance, CONCORDIA was able to welcome 25,000 new insured persons.

CONCORDIA Swiss Health and Accident Insurance Ltd and CONCORDIA Insurances Ltd: key figures for the 2016 financial year                                                                                               
Persons with basic insurance in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein as of 1.1.2017 601,000
Employees 1,200
Agencies and branches 230
Overall earnings CHF 102m
Earnings of CONCORDIA Swiss Health and Accident Insurance Ltd CHF 59m
Earnings of CONCORDIA Insurances Ltd CHF 43m
Premiums earned over all classes of insurance CHF 2.5bn
Loss expenses and benefits CHF 2.3bn
KVG/LAMal Combined Ratio 98.1 %
VVG/LCA Combined Ratio  96.8 %
KVG/LAMal Administrative expense ratio 4.9 %

Additional Information

Erfolgreiches Geschäftsjahr 2016 und 25'000 neue Versicherte

Geschäftsbericht

2016 war für die CONCORDIA wieder ein sehr erfolgreiches Geschäftsjahr. Beide Gesellschaften –die CONCORDIA Schweizerische Kranken- und Unfallversicherung AG und die CONCORDIA Versicherungen AG – erzielten ein positives Resultat.

Der Ertragsüberschuss beläuft sich insgesamt auf 102 Millionen Franken. Dieser Überschuss fliesst in die Reserven, welche in erster Linie die finanzielle Stabilität und Solvenz der CONCORDIA garantieren. Zudem werden die Reserven zur Abfederung von Prämienerhöhungen und für Prämienreduktionen eingesetzt. 2017 zahlt die CONCORDIA ihren Grundversicherten in der Schweiz 30 Millionen Franken aus den Reserven zurück. Die CONCORDIA ist unter dem Dach eines nichtprofitorientierten Vereins organisiert.

Mit Rechnungskontrollen sparte die CONCORDIA im letzten Jahr 228 Millionen Franken ein. Gleichzeitig wurden bei den Versicherungen nach Krankenversicherungsgesetz von einem Prämienfranken lediglich 4.9 Rappen für Verwaltungskosten ausgegeben; der Rest floss in Form von Leistungszahlungen an die Versicherten zurück.

In der Grundversicherung durfte die CONCORDIA 25'000 neue Versicherte willkommen heissen.

CONCORDIA Schweizerische Kranken- und Unfallversicherung AG und CONCORDIA Versicherungen AG: Kennzahlen Geschäftsjahr 2016                                                      
Grundversicherte Schweiz und Fürstentum Liechtenstein per 1.1.2017 601'000
Mitarbeitende 1'200
Agenturen und Geschäftsstellen 230
Ergebnis insgesamt CHF 102 Mio.
Ergebnis CONCORDIA Schw. Kranken- und Unfallversicherung AG CHF 59 Mio.
Ergebnis CONCORDIA Versicherungen AG CHF 43 Mio.
Verdiente Prämien über alle Versicherungszweige CHF 2.5 Mia.
Leistungsaufwand CHF 2.3 Mia.
Combined Ratio KVG 98.1 %
Combined Ratio VVG 
96.8 %
Verwaltungskostensatz KVG 4.9 %

Weitere Informationen