Geschäftsbericht
CONCORDIA profile

Your health and provisional insurance provider

CONCORDIA was founded by committed citizens as a self-help association in 1913. In those days, if a worker became seriously ill, he and his family were in danger of falling into poverty. Anyone who missed work did not receive their wages. In addition, people generally had to pay the costs of healthcare and medicines themselves. Workers therefore began banding together in company health insurance funds and associations, paying a monthly contribution into the shared fund in return for support if they fell ill.

In the more than 100 years that have passed since its foundation, CONCORDIA has developed into a modern company on the healthcare market. Today, it is one of the largest Swiss health insurers, and in the Principality of Liechtenstein, it is the market leader. At present, some 626,000 people place their trust in CONCORDIA’s basic health insurance.

Hauptsitz CONCORDIA

There are many reasons for CONCORDIA’s success. Proximity to the people and an understanding for their everyday worries and concerns are among them. CONCORDIA is also set apart by its first-class personal service, be this on site at the 190 or so agencies throughout Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein or in its contact with customers via electronic media.

Furthermore, the company is an important and popular employer for around 1,400 employees, 700 of them at the headquarters in Lucerne. Some 65% of employees are women. Many employees take advantage of the opportunity to work part-time so that they can effectively combine work and family life. And they all have one thing in common: the daily goal of gaining and retaining the trust of our insured persons.

Geschäftsbericht
CONCORDIA-Porträt

Langfristiges Vertrauen durch persönliche Nähe

Die CONCORDIA wurde 1913 von engagierten Bürgern als Ver­ein zur Selbsthilfe gegründet. Wurde damals ein Arbeiter ernsthaft krank, drohten er und seine Familie zu verarmen. Wer der Arbeit fern­ blieb, erhielt keinen Lohn. Zudem musste man die die Kosten für Pflege und Medika­mente in der Regel selbst tragen. So schlossen sich Betroffene in Betriebskran­kenkassen und in Vereinen zusammen, bezahlten jeden Monat einen Beitrag in die gemeinsame Kasse und erhielten selbst Unterstützung, wenn sie krank wurden.

In den über 100 Jahren seit ihrer Gründung hat sich die CONCORDIA zu einem mo­dernen Unternehmen im Gesundheits­markt entwickelt. Heute gehört sie zu den grössten Schweizer Krankenversicherern. Im Fürstentum Liechtenstein ist sie Markt­führerin. Aktuell schenken 626’000 Grundversicherte der CONCORDIA ihr Vertrauen.
Hauptsitz CONCORDIA
Es gibt viele Gründe für den Erfolg der CONCORDIA. Nähe zu den Menschen und Verständnis für ihre alltäglichen Sor­gen und Anliegen gehören dazu. Auch setzt die CONCORDIA auf einen erst­klassigen persönlichen Service, sei dies vor Ort in den rund 190 Agenturen und Geschäftsstellen in der ganzen Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein, sei dies im Kontakt über elektronische Medien.

Zudem ist die CONCORDIA eine wich­tige und beliebte Arbeitgeberin für rund 1’400 Mitarbeitende, 700 davon am Hauptsitz in Luzern. 65 % der Mitarbei­tenden sind Frauen. Viele von ihnen nutzen die Möglichkeit, Teilzeit zu arbeiten und so Familie und Beruf unter einen Hut zu bringen. Und alle haben sie eines ge­meinsam: Das tägliche Ziel, das Vertrauen unserer Versicherten zu gewinnen und zu erhalten.