Overview

Hospital Insurances

Whether you have private, semiprivate or general insurance – with hospital insurance, you are always on the safe side. Four variants of hospital insurance for individual requirements – PRIVATE, SEMIPRIVATE, LIBERO and GENERAL.

Calculate premiums now

Choice of hospital

Choice of hospital

Free choice of hospital throughout Switzerland

Choice of doctor

Choice of doctor

Free choice of doctor in the hospital with PRIVATE and SEMIPRIVATE Hospital Insurance

For families

For families

Special benefits for families – attractive premiums for children

Hospital stay outside of the canton of residence

Mandatory Health Care Insurance covers the costs in the event of a hospital stay in the canton of residence. With one of the CONCORDIA hospital insurances, you are protected for further costs. Supplementary insurance comes with different scopes of benefits.
PRIVATE
With PRIVATE Hospital Insurance, be first class around the world
SEMIPRIVATE
Free choice of hospital and doctor throughout Switzerland
LIBERO
Privat, semiprivate, general – free to choose upon hospital admission
GENERAL
On the safe side, even outside of the canton
Free choice of hospital
Choice of doctor in hospital

worldwide

throughout Switzerland

in the private and semiprivate ward

Hotel service
Full coverage of costs

Calculate premiums now

Additional Information

CONCORDIA hospital lists

  • Hospitals without cost coverage, neither KVG/LAMal nor VVG/LCA
  • Hospitals without full cost coverage from the hospital insurances
  • Hospitals without a recognised private ward
  • Hospitals for GENERAL COMFORT and GENERAL COMFORT plus 

Santésuisse hospital finder (only available in German)

Frequently asked questions regarding hospital stays

  • I have to go to the hospital What do I have to do?

    In the event of an emergency in Switzerland, ordinarily, you will be admitted into a hospital on the cantonal hospital list for your canton of residence. With the help of your CONCORDIA health insurance card – carry it with you at all times! – the hospital can find the address for further information regarding your insurance coverage. The hospital will contact CONCORDIA directly for a confirmation of cover.

    In the event of an emergency while abroad, call the concordiaMed 24-hour emergency service immediately if you have DIVERSA, DIVERSAcare, DIVERSAplus, DIVERSApremium or PRIVATE Hospital Insurance. You will find the number on your health insurance card.

    For a planned hospital stay in the general ward of a hospital found on the cantonal hospital list of your canton of residence, generally speaking, no actions are necessary before hospital admission. The hospital will request the confirmation of cover directly from CONCORDIA. We recommend that you bring your health insurance card with you when being admitted into the hospital.

    For a planned hospital stay in the general ward of a hospital outside of the canton as well as in the semiprivate or private ward of any hospital, the hospital will inform you of the following in the admission orders:

    • if you must bring a confirmation of cover with you. To do so, please contact your CONCORDIA agency or branch.
    • if the clinic will contact CONCORDIA directly for a confirmation of cover: We recommend that you bring your health insurance card with you when being admitted into the hospital.

    The doctor and the hospital must inform the patient fully about the treatment as well as about the financial consequences. In particular, the patient must be made aware if a treatment is not (completely) covered by the insurance.

    In any case, if there are any uncertainties, please consult your CONCORDIA agency or branch before a planned hospital stay to find out how the assumption of costs are handled by CONCORDIA.

  • What must I consider when choosing the hospital for an inpatient treatment?

    When choosing the general ward in a listed hospital in the canton of residence: Each canton compiles a cantonal list of hospitals, which can also contain hospitals outside of the canton. In the event of an inpatient treatment in the general ward of a listed hospital in your canton of residence, the costs are fully covered by Mandatory Health Care Insurance within the context of the service mandate for this listed hospital.

    When choosing the general ward of a hospital on the hospital list in another canton (listed hospital in the siting canton): If a stationary treatment takes place in the general ward of a so-called listed hospital in the siting canton, only the costs in line with the tariff that applies for the treatment in question at a listed hospital of your canton of residence are covered. The gaps in coverage are assumed by GENERAL Hospital Insurance. Persons who have no hospital insurance must account for the gaps in coverage themselves for treatments in the general ward of a hospital on the hospital list of another canton. In the event of treatments due to medical conditions or emergencies, the costs are fully covered.

    When choosing a contracted hospital: CONCORDIA may conclude a contract with hospitals that are not on the hospital list. For such contracted hospitals, GENERAL Hospital Insurance bears the full costs for the treatment in the general ward. Persons who have no hospital insurance are not fully insured for a stay in a contracted hospital and must account for a large part of the costs themselves.

    When choosing a private or semiprivate ward throughout Switzerland: For inpatient treatments in the private or semiprivate ward of a hospital in Switzerland, a part of the costs is assumed by basic insurance and the other by either PRIVATE or SEMIPRIVATE Hospital Insurance. The prerequisite for the costs to be assumed is the existence of a tariff contract between the hospital and CONCORDIA for that ward. CONCORDIA endeavours, to the extent possible, to conclude contracts with high-quality, efficiently operating hospitals and affiliated physicians for private and semiprivate wards with a free choice of doctor. Hospitals with which no contract has been stipulated and therefore do not cover costs fully under some circumstances can be found on the following list of hospitals without a full coverage of costs for the hospital insurances.

    Caution when choosing hospitals for which no costs at all will be taken over. There are hospitals that, under certain circumstances, do not appear on the cantonal list and with which no contract has been stipulated. No benefits at all may be provided for such hospitals, independent of the existing insurance.

    In case of doubt, please consult your CONCORDIA agency in any case before a planned hospital stay to find out how the assumption of costs are handled by CONCORDIA.

  • My toddler has to be hospitalised for an operation. I don't want to leave my daughter alone during this difficult period, and I would like to be there as much as possible for her. Can I stay with her in the hospital even overnight?

    The separation of an infant from the mother or a toddler from the parents can be stressful for both sides. To reduce this, most hospitals offer a so-called "rooming in" option. Parents may accompany a sick child in the hospital and remain with him for the duration of the stay. The reverse is also true: If, for example, the mother must be hospitalised, she is allowed to bring her toddler with her.

    CONCORDIA pays a contribution of a maximum of CHF 60 per day out of all supplementary hospital insurances towards the stay of an accompanying parent in the hospital where the child is staying or vice versa. It is irrelevant whether the patient is insured with PRIVATE, SEMIPRIVATE, LIVERO or GENERAL Hospital Insurance.

    CONCORDIA pays a maximum of CHF 60 out of the supplementary insurance DIVERSAcare and a maximum of CHF 100 out of DIVERSApremium per night of the stay of the accompanying parent in the hospital where the child (until the age of 10) is staying or vice versa (max. ten nights per calendar year).

  • In the near future, I'm in store for a serious operation. I would like to be treated for it in a German clinic of my choice. Does CONCORDIA assume the costs?

    With PRIVATE Hospital Insurance, you are free to choose your clinic or hospital around the world whilst enjoying full coverage in the private ward. In any case, before a planned hospital stay abroad, please contact your CONCORDIA agency or branch at your earliest convenience so that the forthcoming hospital stay may be. planned in an optimum manner.

    In addition, with PRIVATE Hospital Insurance, you benefit from the advantage of concordiaMed premium. With this comprehensive package of benefits, you have quick and direct access to doctors and hospitals. You also enjoy the best service and personal care and can take advantage of exclusive health counselling around the clock.

  • Unfortunately, this year I must be hospitalised for the second time. Now do I have to pay my deductible of CHF 5000 again even though I already paid the first time in spring?

    No, the deductible is only paid once a year. Even if you must be hospitalised many times during the same calendar year, you only pay the deductible once. The situation is different when it comes to a hospital stay that lasts into the new year. In the event of a short-term hospital stay lasting up to 30 days, the deductible is charged only once. If the stay lasts more than 30 days, the deductible is charged for both years.

    However, with hospital insurance, the opportunity exists where no deductible must be paid. When being admitted into the hospital, you choose the ward in which you would like to be treated. If you have private insurance and, for example, you choose to stay in the semiprivate ward, you only pay half of the deductible. However, if you choose to be treated in the general ward, you will not be charged any deductible. Hospital insurance with a high deductible doesn't only allow for monthly discounts, but it also leaves some elbow room for personal decisions.

Spitalversicherung
Im Überblick

Spitalversicherungen

Ob privat, halbprivat oder allgemein versichert – mit der Spitalversicherung sind Sie auf der sicheren Seite. Vier Spitalversicherungen für individuelle Bedürfnisse – PRIVAT, HALBPRIVAT, LIBERO und ALLGEMEIN

Jetzt Prämie rechnen

Spitalwahl

Spitalwahl

Freie Spitalwahl in der ganzen Schweiz

Arztwahl

Arztwahl

Freie Arztwahl im Spital mit PRIVAT und HALBPRIVAT

Für Familien

Für Familien

Besondere Leistungen – attraktive Prämien für Kinder

Spitalaufenthalt ausserhalb des Wohnkantons

Die obligatorische Krankenpflegeversicherung OKP deckt bei einem Spitalaufenthalt die Kosten innerhalb Ihres Wohnkantons. Mit einer Spitalversicherung der CONCORDIA sind Sie darüber hinaus geschützt. Die Zusatzversicherung gibt es mit unterschiedlichem Leistungsumfang. 
empfohlen
PRIVAT
Mit der Spitalversicherung PRIVAT weltweit erstklassig liegen
HALBPRIVAT
Freie Spital- und Arztwahl in der ganzen Schweiz
LIBERO
Privat, halbprivat, allgemein – bei Spitaleintritt frei entscheiden
ALLGEMEIN
Auf der sicheren Seite auch ausserhalb des Kantons
Spitalwahl
freie Spitalwahl, freie Arztwahl im Spital – weltweit
freie Spitalwahl, freie Arztwahl im Spital – schweizweit
freie Spitalwahl in der ganzen Schweiz
Freie Arztwahl im Spital

weltweit

schweizweit

in der privaten und halbprivaten Abteilung

Hotellerie
Volle Kostendeckung

Jetzt Prämie rechnen

Fragen und Antworten zum Spitalaufenthalt

  • Ich muss ins Spital. Was ist zu tun?

    Bei einem Notfall in der Schweiz werden Sie in der Regel in ein Spital eingewiesen, das auf der kantonalen Spitalliste Ihres Wohnkantons aufgeführt ist. Aus Ihrer CONCORDIA-Krankenversicherungskarte– tragen Sie diese immer bei sich! – kann das Spital die Adresse für weitere Auskünfte zu Ihrer Versicherungsdeckung entnehmen. Das Spital wird sich direkt bei der CONCORDIA um eine Deckungszusage bemühen.

    Bei einem Notfall im Ausland rufen Sie umgehend concordiaMed die 24-h-Gesundheitsberatung an, wenn Sie über die Zusatzversicherung DIVERSA, DIVERSAcare, DIVERSAplus, DIVERSApremium oder Spitalversicherung PRIVAT verfügen. Die Nummer finden Sie auf Ihrer Krankenversicherungskarte.

    Bei einem geplanten Spitalaufenthalt in der allgemeinen Abteilung in einem Spital, das auf der kantonalen Spitalliste Ihres Wohnkantons aufgeführt ist, sind in der Regel keine Massnahmen vor dem Spitaleintritt nötig. Das Spital verlangt die Deckungszusage direkt bei der CONCORDIA. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, die Krankenversicherungskarte bei Spitaleintritt mitzubringen.

    Bei einem geplanten Spitalaufenthalt in der allgemeinen Abteilung eines ausserkantonalen Spitals sowie in der Halbprivat- und Privatabteilung in allen Spitälern -  das Spital wird Sie mit dem Eintrittsaufgebot informieren:
    • ob Sie eine Deckungszusage mitbringen müssen. Wenden Sie sich dafür an Ihre CONCORDIA Agentur oder -Geschäftsstelle.
    • ob die Klinik direkt bei der CONCORDIA eine Deckungszusage verlangt: Wir empfehlen Ihnen, die Krankenversicherungskarte bei Spitaleintritt mitzubringen.

    Der Arzt und das Spital haben die Patienten sowohl über die Behandlung als auch über die finanziellen Folgen umfassend aufzuklären. Insbesondere muss darauf aufmerksam gemacht werden, wenn eine Behandlung nicht (voll) durch die Krankenversicherung gedeckt ist.

    Bitte informieren Sie sich bei Unsicherheiten in jedem Fall vor einem geplanten Spitalaufenthalt bei Ihrer CONCORDIA-Agentur oder -Geschäftsstelle, wie es sich mit der Kostenübernahme durch die CONCORDIA verhält.

  • Was muss ich bei der Wahl des Spitals für eine stationäre Behandlung beachten?
    Bei der Wahl der Allgemeinen Abteilung in einem Listenspital des Wohnkantons:
    Jeder Kanton erstellt eine kantonale Spitalliste. Das Listenspital kann sich in Ihrem Wohnkanton oder in einem anderen Kanton befinden. Bei einer stationären Behandlung auf der allgemeinen Abteilung in einem Listenspital Ihres Wohnkantons sind die Kosten durch die obligatorische Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) im Rahmen des Leistungsauftrags für dieses Listenspital voll gedeckt.

    Bei der Wahl der Allgemeinen Abteilung in einem Spitals auf der Spitalliste eines anderen Kantons (Listenspital Standortkanton):
    Erfolgt eine stationäre Behandlung auf der allgemeinen Abteilung in einem solchen, sogenannten Listenspital des Standortkantons, sind die Kosten nur zum Tarif gedeckt, der in einem Listenspital Ihres Wohnkantons für die betreffende Behandlung gilt. Die Deckungslücke übernimmt die Spitalversicherung ALLGEMEIN. Personen, die keine Spitalversicherung haben, müssen für Deckungslücken bei Behandlungen in der allgemeinen Abteilung eines Spitals auf der Spitalliste eines anderen Kantons selber aufkommen. Bei Behandlungen aus medizinischen Gründen oder in Notfällen besteht volle Kostendeckung.

    Bei der Wahl eines Vertragsspitals:
    Die CONCORDIA kann mit Spitälern, die nicht auf einer Spitalliste aufgeführt sind, einen Vertrag abschliessen. Die Spitalversicherung ALLGEMEIN übernimmt bei solchen Vertragsspitälern die vollen Kosten für die Behandlung in der allgemeinen Abteilung. Personen, die keine Spitalversicherung haben, sind für Aufenthalte in Vertragsspitälern nicht voll versichert und müssen für einen grossen Teil der Kosten selber aufkommen.

    Bei der Wahl einer privaten und halbprivaten Abteilung in der ganze Schweiz:
    Für stationäre Behandlungen auf der privaten oder halbprivaten Abteilung eines Spitals in der Schweiz werden die Kosten anteilig aus der Grundversicherung und aus der jeweiligen Spitalversicherung PRIVAT oder HALBPRIVAT übernommen. Bedingung für die volle Kostenübernahme ist das Vorliegen eines Tarifvertrags zwischen Spital und CONCORDIA für diese Abteilungen. Die CONCORDIA ist bestrebt, mit möglichst allen qualitativ gut und effizient arbeitenden Spitälern und Belegärzten Verträge für Privat- und Halbprivatabteilungen mit freier Arztwahl abzuschliessen. Spitäler ohne Vertrag und damit unter Umständen ohne volle Kostendeckung finden Sie auf der nachfolgenden Liste der Spitäler ohne volle Kostendeckung in den Spitalversicherungen.

    Achtung bei der Wahl von Spitälern, bei denen gar keine Kosten übernommen werden. Es gibt unter Umständen Spitäler, welche nicht auf einer kantonalen Spitalliste sind und mit denen auch kein Vertrag abgeschlossen wurde. Bei solchen Spitälern können unabhängig von der bestehenden Versicherung keinerlei Leistungen ausgerichtet werden.

    Bitte informieren Sie sich bei Unsicherheiten in jedem Fall vor einem geplanten Spitalaufenthalt bei Ihrer CONCORDIA-Agentur oder -Geschäftsstelle, wie es sich mit der Kostenübernahme durch die CONCORDIA verhält.
  • Mein Kleinkind muss für eine Operation ins Spital. In dieser schwierigen Zeit möchte ich meine Tochter nicht alleine lassen und so gut wie möglich für sie da sein. Kann ich im Spital auch nachts bei ihr bleiben?
    Eine Trennung eines Säuglings von der Mutter oder eines Kleinkindes von den Eltern kann für beide Seiten Stress bedeuten. Um diesen zu reduzieren, bieten heute die meisten Spitäler das so genannte Rooming-in an. Eltern können ihr krankes Kind ins Spital begleiten und für die Dauer des Aufenthaltes bei ihm bleiben. Dasselbe gilt auch umgekehrt: Muss z. B. die Mutter ins Spital, hat sie beim Rooming-in die Möglichkeit, ihr Kleinkind mitzunehmen.

    Die CONCORDIA zahlt aus allen Spitalversicherungen einen Betrag von maximal CHF 60 pro Tag an den Aufenthalt des begleitenden Elternteils im Spital, in dem das Kind hospitalisiert ist oder umgekehrt. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle, ob der Patient die Spitalversicherung PRIVAT, HALBPRIVAT, LIBERO oder ALLGEMEIN, versichert hat.

    Die CONCORDIA zahlt zusätzlich aus den Zusatzversicherungen DIVERSAcare und DIVERSApremium maximal CHF 60 bzw. CHF 100 pro Übernachtung an den Aufenthalt des begleitenden Elternteils im Spital, in dem das Kind (bis zum vollendeten 10. Altersjahr) hospitalisiert ist oder umgekehrt (max. 10 Übernachtungen pro Kalenderjahr).
  • Demnächst steht mir eine schwierige Operation bevor. Dafür möchte ich mich in einer deutschen Klinik meines Vertrauens behandeln lassen. Übernimmt die CONCORDIA die Kosten?
    Mit der Spitalversicherung PRIVAT können Sie Ihre Klinik oder Ihr Spital weltweit frei wählen und geniessen dabei volle Deckung in der Privatabteilung. Bitte nehmen Sie vor einem geplanten Spitalaufenthalt im Ausland in jedem Fall und frühzeitig mit Ihrer CONCORDIA Agentur oder -Geschäftsstelle Kontakt auf, damit der bevorstehende Spitalaufenthalt optimal geplant werden kann.

    Zudem profitieren Sie mit der Spitalversicherung PRIVAT von concordiaMed premium. Mit diesem umfassenden Leistungspaket haben Sie direkten, schnellen Zugang zu Ärzten und Spitälern, geniessen besten Service sowie eine persönliche Betreuung und können eine exklusive Gesundheitsberatung rund um die Uhr in Anspruch nehmen.
  • Leider muss ich in diesem Jahr bereits zum zweiten Mal ins Spital. Muss ich nun meine Franchise von CHF 5000 nochmals bezahlen, obwohl ich bereits im Frühling das erste Mal zahlte?
    Nein, die Franchise wird nur einmal pro Jahr fällig. Auch bei mehreren Spitalaufenthalten im gleichen Kalenderjahr zahlen Sie die Franchise nur einmal. Anders sieht es bei einem Spitalaufenthalt übers Jahresende aus. Bei einem kurzfristigen Aufenthalt bis maximal 30 Tage wird die Franchise nur einmal erhoben. Dauert der Aufenthalt aber länger als 30 Tage, wird die Franchise für beide Jahre belastet.

    Noch zu wenig bekannt ist die Möglichkeit, in der Spitalversicherung keine Franchise bezahlen zu müssen: Sie wählen beim Spitaleintritt die Abteilung, in welcher Sie sich behandeln lassen wollen. Wenn Sie mit Ihrer Privatversicherung z. B. in die Halbprivatabteilung eintreten, zahlen Sie nur die Hälfte der Franchise. Wenn Sie sich in der allgemeinen Abteilung behandeln lassen, wird Ihnen gar keine Franchise belastet. Eine hohe Franchise in der Spitalversicherung bringt nicht nur jeden Monat Rabatt, sondern lässt auch Freiraum für persönliche Entscheide.

Sie möchten mehr erfahren?