European Health Insurance Card on the back side

If you have taken out Mandatory Health Care Insurance with CONCORDIA, the European Health Insurance Card can be found on the back side of your health insurance card with the following details:

  • Insurance number
  • Country
  • Surname and first name
  • AHV/AVS number
  • Card number
  • Date of birth
  • ID number of the insurance carrier
  • Date of expiry
  • Magnetic strip
No personal data or data concerning your state of health is stored on the magnetic stripe of your health insurance card. Only a card number has been stored on it which allows one to obtain information regarding your insurance cover.

Card for accident and illness when abroad

During a temporary stay in an EU or EFTA country, with the European Health Insurance Card, you have access to unscheduled medical treatments in the event of illness, accident or maternity. We recommend that you take your European Health Insurance Card with you on every trip.

If you forget the card, you will nevertheless receive the medically necessary treatment. However, the treatment costs will not, as a rule, be reimbursed in the same amount as when you show your health insurance card. However, you can also ask CONCORDIA for a provisional replacement certificate, which offers you the same protection as does the European Health Insurance Card.

The European Health Insurance Card is no replacement for Vacation and Travel Insurance. It also guarantees no free treatment.

Carte européenne d’assurance-maladie au verso

Au dos de la carte d'assurance-maladie qui vous a été fournie par CONCORDIA, vous trouvez la carte européenne d’assurance-maladie avec les champs suivants:

  • Numéro d’assuré
  • Pays
  • Nom, prénoms
  • N° AVS
  • N° de la carte
  • Date de naissance
  • N° d’identification de l’institution
  • Date d’expiration
  • Bande magnétique
Aucun renseignement relatif à votre personne ou à votre état de santé n’est enregistré sur la bande magnétique de la carte d'assurance-maladie. Seul le numéro de carte y est consigné, qui permet de demander des informations sur la couverture d’assurance du titulaire.

Accident ou maladie alors que vous vous trouvez à l’étranger

Votre carte européenne d’assurance-maladie vous donne droit à des traitements médicaux non planifiés en cas de maladie, d’accident ou de maternité lorsque vous séjournez temporairement dans un pays de l’UE ou de l’AELE. Nous vous recommandons de toujours la prendre avec vous lorsque vous voyagez.

Si vous ne l’avez pas, vous aurez droit malgré tout au traitement médical dont vous avez besoin, mais les frais ne vous seront en général pas remboursés dans la même mesure que si vous aviez pu présenter la carte. Sur demande, CONCORDIA peut également vous fournir un certificat provisoire de remplacement vous offrant la même protection que la carte européenne d’assurance-maladie.

La carte européenne d’assurance-maladie ne remplace pas l’Assurance vacances et voyages. Elle ne garantit pas non plus la gratuité des traitements.